When the need arises to merge two or more issues together, we can easily do so on the web platform. This is also the only location where we can merge issues. Make sure you’re logged into your BIM Track account to perform this operation.
Who can and cannot merge issues?
The only type of user who cannot merge an issue is a project reader. All other types of users can merge issues.
How can we merge issues?
Follow these steps on the web platform to merge multiple issues:
- Open the Issues dashboard by clicking “Issues” in the PROJECT MENU.
- Hold the Control (Ctrl) key down and select the issues you want to merge. You’ll see a blue check mark in the corner once selected.
- Click the gear icon in the top right corner.
- From the drop down, click Merge.
- The MERGE CONFIGURATION dialog box will open, select the issue that you want to host the merging issues.
- Specify the criteria you want to merge such as the comments, the attachments, the viewpoints, etc. by sliding the toggle switch to the “On” position.
- Click the "Merge" button.
Once issues are merged together there is no way of undoing the operation. They will be merged together forever.
Which issues can’t be merged?
Issues created in Navisworks from the Clash to issue command cannot be merged with any other issue. As BIM Track issues status can be synchronized with the Navisworks clash detective results using GUIDs, the merging (grouping) of issues should take place in Navisworks prior to being exported to BIM Track.